Faculties protest over JNU dean’s appointment

Posted by

Expressing displeasure over the appointment of Jawaharlal Nehru University’s School of Social Sciences, four professors have accused the University for ignoring the procedures.

In a letter to Vice-Chancellor Jagadesh Kumar, they expressed that the university ignored the established practice of appointing Deans of Schools on the basis of seniority. Instead, the administration appointed Professor Pradipta K Chaudhury — sixth in line — as the dean.

They mentioned that, they are writing to express our surprise, dismay and extreme concern at the manner in which you have chosen to appoint the new Dean of School and signed by professors Kunal Chakrabarti, Jayati Ghosh, Rajat Datta and Ravi Srivastava.

It added, “…There is a well-established norm of going by seniority and rotation in the appointment of chairpersons and deans of various centres and schools. This has been broken only in exceptional circumstances — when there are compelling reasons to do so, and clear elaboration of the reasons behind it.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *