Home » Indian Civil Service Exam » Civil Services Main Exam

Civil Services Main Exam

The Main examination comprises of nine papers, all of them of a descriptive type conducted within a span of 20 days.

It is designed to test not only the academic talent of the aspirant but also his ability to coordinate and present his knowledge in a clear and coherent manner. The main Examination is intended to assess the overall intellectual traits and depth of understanding of candidates rather than merely the range of their information and memory.

The scope of the syllabus for the optional subject papers for the examinat ion is broadly of the honours degree level i.e. a level higher than the bachelors degree and lower than the masters degree. In the case of Engineering and law, the level corresponds to the bachelor's degree.

Civil Services Main Examination Timetable

Main Examination

The written examination will consist of the following papers :

Paper-A 300 Marks

One of the Indian Language to be selected by the candidate from the Languages included in the Eighth Schedule to the Constitution.

Paper-B English 300 Marks

Papers to be counted for merit

Paper – I Section 1 – Essay 250 Marks
Paper – II General Studies – I
(Indian Heritage and Culture, History and
Geography of the World and Society)
250 Marks
Paper – III General Studies – II
(Governance, Constitution, Polity, Social Justice
and International relations)
250 Marks
Paper-IV General Studies – III
(Technology, Economic Development, Bio-diversity,
Environment, Security and Disaster Management)
250 Marks
Paper-V General Studies – IV
(Ethics, Integrity and Aptitude)
250 Marks
Paper VI Optional Subject – Paper 1 250 Marks
Paper VII Optional Subject – Paper 2 250 Marks
Sub Total Marks for Written Examination 1750 Marks
Interview Test [in the medium you choose] 275 Marks
Grand Total 2025 Marks