Home » Top Courses In India »Teacher Eligibility Test

Teacher Eligibility Test


The Indian Entrance Examination which has been conducted for Teachers is called as Teacher Eligibility Test. It is also known as TET in short. This exam is compulsory for getting teacher jobs in Indian Schools for classes 1 to 8. Both Central and State Governments have been conducting this test every year in India.

The main Objective of this exam is to improve the standard and quality of Indian Teachers. The National Council for Indian Education (NCTE) has introduced this entrance examination in the year 2011. Also, already working teachers were informed to clear this exam within two years of the announcement.


  1. There are two papers in the TET Exam - Paper 1 and Paper 2.
  2. B.A, B.Sc, B.Com, B.ED and all other graduates are eligible for writing this test.
  3. Each Candidate has to get 60% to pass in the TET Exam.

TET Exams

Tet Exams are conducted by both the Central and the State Governments. Many Indian States have their own TET Departments.

Central Teacher Eligibility Test

By the guidelines framed by the National Council for Indian Education (NCTE), each State Government will conduct this Teacher Eligibility Test. TET is considered as the minimum qualification for a candidate for joining as a teacher for classes between 1- 8, in any Indian School. This TET exam seems to be very tough; pass percentage of the exam is 1% to 14% every year. In Feb 2015, nearly 8.26 lakh candidates have written this exam from all over India. The exam results will be announced in March 2015. In Delhi, the Central Board of Secondary Education (CTET) is responsible for conducting this Central Teacher Eligibility Test (CTET).

CTET Website: https://ctet.nic.in/

State wise TET Websites List

  1. Assam - http://www.tetassam.com/
  2. Andhrapradesh - http://aptet.cgg.gov.in/
  3. Arunachalpradesh - http://aptet.cgg.gov.in/
  4. Bihar - http://www.bihartet.co.in/
  5. Chandigarh - http://www.chdeducation.gov.in/whatisnew.asp
  6. Chattisgarh - http://cgvyapam.choice.gov.in/
  7. Delhi - https://ctet.nic.in/CMS/Public/Home.aspx
  8. Goa - http://www.education.goa.gov.in/
  9. Gujarat - http://www.gujaratset.ac.in/
  10. Haryana - http://htet.nic.in/
  11. Himachal Pradesh – https://himachal.nic.in/
  12. Jammu Kashmir - http://jkhighereducation.nic.in/index.html
  13. Jharkhand - http://jac.nic.in/
  14. Karnataka - http://www.caconline.in/
  15. Kerala - http://www.ktet.in/
  16. Lakshadweep - https://lakshadweep.nic.in/
  17. Madhya Pradesh - http://www.educationportal.mp.gov.in/
  18. Maharashtra - https://mahatet.in/
  19. Manipur - http://bsem.nic.in/
  20. Meghalaya - http://megeducation.gov.in/
  21. Mizoram - http://mbse.edu.in/
  22. Nagaland - http://www.nbsenagaland.com/
  23. Odisha - http://bseodisha.nic.in/
  24. Punjab - http://bseodisha.nic.in/
  25. Pondicherry - http://schooledn.puducherry.gov.in/
  26. Rajasthan - http://examrtet.rajasthan.gov.in/
  27. Sikkim - http://www.sikkimhrdd.org/
  28. Tamilnadu - http://trb.tn.nic.in/
  29. Telangana - https://scert.telangana.gov.in/teacher.html
  30. Tripura - http://schooleducation.tripura.gov.in/
  31. Uttar Pradesh - http://upbasiceduboard.gov.in/
  32. Uttarakhand - http://ubse.uk.gov.in/
  33. Westbengal - http://wbtet.nic.in/
  34. Andaman and Nicobar Island - http://www.and.nic.in/C_charter/education/dir-edn.htm
  35. Dadra and Nagar Haveli - http://www.dnh.nic.in/
  36. Daman and Diu - http://www.diu.gov.in/education.html